SOUND UP creative lab @ LEXUS DOME

01 September 2017, 18:30

Lexus Dome. Address: 1-y Krasnogvardeyskiy pr-d, 21/1 (Moscow City, OKO Tower)

PAST EVENT

The Russian audience knows the Icelandic singer and composer Hohni Egilsson as the frontman of the famous GusGus band, whose voice can be heard on the group’s most popular albums Arabian Horse (2011) and Mexico (2014). In his native Iceland, Hohni Egilsson is one of the country’s most popular contemporary singers and composers, whose music is equally beloved by audiophiles and mass audiences. He is the keyboard player and frontman of the indie rock band Hjatalín, whose debut album Sleepdrunk Seasons (2007) immediately made him famous. The band’s second record, Terminal (2009), was an even greater hit, winning “Album of the Year” at the Icelandic Music Awards. After joining GusGus in 2011, Hohni Egilsson recorded two albums with the band, and toured all around Europe and North America. The Icelandic composer and producer also composed musical scores for several stage productions, TV series and films, including the soundtrack to the short feature film Vikingar (2013), which won the Golden Rail prize at Cannes and was nominated for the Discovery Prize.

Anton Sevidov has been partaking in musical competitions from a very young age. At 12, he went on tour with the program “Talents of Russia,” and subsequently collected numerous prestigious musical prizes. In 2008, after completing his piano studies at the Gnesin Music Academy, Anton founded electro pop band Tesla Boy, one the few Russian bands to gain real traction in the West. In the nine years of its existence, the band became one of Russia’s most successul new wave projects, and its touring schedule expanded way beyond Russia and CIS, as the group regularly performs in Europe, United States, Mexico, and South America. The band’s debut album Modern Thrills came out in 2010 on the London label Mullet Records, allowing the group to gain a solid foothold on the international music market. The subsequent albums The Universe Made of Darkness (2013) and Moses (2016) ended up among top iTunes albums in Russia, US, Mexico and Europe. At Tesla Boy, Anton does more than just vocals, writing music and texts as well. He collects synthesizers from different eras of the 20th century, and uses them to record his own tracks, which have a distinct contemporary sound despite the vintage technology. In 2017, Anton began to write music for cinema and theater. His first musical production is the Sea of Trees at the Gogol Center. The stage production is also Anton’s debut as a stage actor.

Gyda Valtysdottir began her career as a teenager, having founded the Múm experimental band, which became, at the turn of the new century, one of the principal symbols of the Iceland music scene. After releasing Finally We Are No One (2002) album, she concentrated on completing her musical education at a number of international universities (including the one in St. Petersburg, where she was brought by her interest in classical Russian music), fortifying her learning with a double master’s degree from the Basel Hochschule für Musik, where her principal instructors were the celloist and composer Thomas Demenga, and violist, composer and improviser Walter Fendrich. Gyda Valtysdottir has worked with such musicians as the Kronos Quartet, Jónsi from Sigur Ros, Ben Frost, Dustin O’Halloran, A Winged Victory for the Sullen, Colin Stetson, Olof Arnalds, Damien Rice, and the iconic film director Guy Maddin. This Icelandic composer and producer wrote musical scores for films, stage productions, ballets, and audiovisual projects. Her first solo album Epicycle (2015) was released on the legendary Icelandic label Smekkleysa, and collected a number of prestigious prizes at the Icelandic Music Awards.

Katya’s first band was organized while she still lived at her native Kazan. After moving to Moscow in 2012, she got together with musician Yevgeny Gorbunov (NRKTK, Stoned Boys) to establish the Glintshake band, which began performing English-language rock with references to the American alternative scene of the 1980s and 1990s. At the same time, Shilonosova joined academic music ensemble Scratch Orchestra, which in 2013 performed several paragraphs from The Great Learning by Cornelius Cardew at the Garazh Contemporary Art Center. Next year she qualified for the Red Bull Music Academy in Tokyo as the creator of the solo electronic project Kate NV. Her debut album Binasu, released in 2016, drew enthusiastic reviews from the international music media. The talented young Russian and her exotic electronic avant pop were written up by The New Yorker and The Qietus. Kate NV recently went on a North American tour together with Canadian singer and producer Jessy Lanza. In addition to her solo project, Katya Shilonosova continues to perform with two other bands. One is the GSh, which came out of Glintshake, and where she performs the smart and dynamic guitar pop with Russian-language lyrics. The other one is the Mouths (Rty) improvisational band, where she jams together with musicians from the Russian indie bands On-The-Go and Pompeya.

Kate NV has been added to the RUSH pool of projects — the new initiative of independent musical experts, who took up the functions of the Russian music export office. She will represent Russia at the first Russian showcase as part of the Reeperbahn Festival in September of this year.

Having studied classical music since he was five years old, Viktor Arnason began playing in different bands when he was still a teenager. His first success came with the band called Búdrýgindi, selected as the 2002 winner of the national competition Battle Of the Bands. As part of Hjaltalín, which the musician joined in 2006, Viktor Arnason released three full albums, a movie soundtrack and a concert album with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra, which included performances of his popular orchestra compositions. Arnason was a member of several bands, which had won numerous prizes at the Icelandic Music Awards.

Having earned his diplomas in musical composition and violin performance, Viktor is the conductor/violin player and artistic co-director of the SKARK ensemble, and he has conducted such orchestras as the Berlin Music Ensemble, LPR ensemble in New York, Australian Chamber Orchestra, and Budapest Cinematic Orchestra.

Since 2010, Viktor has been playing the string instruments and producing orchestra arrangements for such musicials as Jóhann Jóhannsson, Ólafur Arnalds, Nils Frahm, Hildur Guðnadóttir, Agent Fresco, Gluteus Maximus, Uni Stefson, Árstíðir, Sandra Kolstad, East of My Youth, and Hanna Mia and The Northern Taylor Squad.

In the late 1990s, Andrei Antonets along with Alexander Matrosov founded the IDM duo Alexandroid, which made quite a splash on the international scene. In 2004, the project was given the Grand Prix of the Radio France Internationale Electronic Music Award as Eastern Europe’s most interesting project. The jury chairman Laurent Garnier selected Alexandroid from more than 60 performers representing 15 countries. In 2010, Andrei Antonets founded the idi0ts project, whose debut EP, released on the London label Lo Recordings, made it into the European indie charts. Also in 2010, working in collaboration with Ilya Lagutenko (Mumiy Troll), Antonets created the Keta electronic project, whose debut album Impudence (Derzosti) was declared by music critics to be one of Russia’s best releases of 2012. Working under the stage name of OID, Andrei Antonets has recorded a dozen solo releases, which came out on various European labels, and composed soundtracks for several stage productions, films, video installations as well as the classical work of the silent documentary genre, Dziga Vertov’s Man with a Movie Camera. The most recent OID album, entitled 22:22, was released in the spring of 2017 by Moscow label Sealt as a limited-edition vinyl record.

powered by
  • rs
  • mb
  • gi

SOUND UP creative lab @ LEXUS DOME

01 сентября 2017, 18:30

Lexus Dome. Адрес: 1-й Красногвардейский проезд, д.21/1 (Москва-сити, Башня ОКО)

Мероприятие прошло

Исландский певец и композитор Хогни Эгилссон известен российскому слушателю как вокалист знаменитой группы GusGus, голос которого звучит на ее самых успешных альбомах «Arabian Horse» (2011) и «Mexico» (2014). В родной Исландии Хогни Эгилссон является одним из самых популярных современных певцов и композиторов, чья музыка одинаково любима меломанами и массовой аудиторией. Певец, пианист, фронтмен инди-рок-группы Hjaltalín, чей дебютный альбом «Sleepdrunk Seasons» (2007) прославил его на всю страну. Вторая пластинка Hjaltalín «Terminal» (2009) стала еще большим хитом, получив приз «Альбом года» на Icelandic Music Awards. Присоединившись в 2011 году к GusGus, Хогни Эгилссон записал два альбома и объездил с гастролями всю Европу и Северную Америку. Кроме того, исландский композитор и продюсер сочинил музыку к нескольким театральным постановкам, телесериалам и фильмам, включая саундтрек к короткометражке Vikingar (2013), которая получила на Каннском кинофестивале награду Golden Rail и была номинирована на премию Discovery.

С раннего возраста Антон Севидов принимал активное участие в музыкальных конкурсах. В 12 лет он уже гастролировал с программой «Таланты России» и в дальнейшем получил множество престижных музыкальных и композиторских премий. Пройдя школу игры на фортепиано в Академии имени Гнесиных, Антон основал в 2008 году электро-поп-группуTesla Boy – одну из немногих, получивших в XXI веке признание на Западе. За девять лет существования группа стала одним из самых успешных российских музыкальных проектов новой волны, а география гастролей расширилась далеко за границы России и СНГ: регулярные концерты проходят в Европе, США, Мексике и странах Южной Америки. Дебютный альбом Tesla Boy «Modern Thrills» вышел в 2010 году на лондонском лейблеMullet Records и позволил создать крепкую платформу для работы на международном рынке. Альбомы «The Universe Made of Darkness» (2013) и «Moses» (2016) попали в топы iTunes России, США, Мексики и Европы. Антон Севидов выступает в Tesla Boy не только как вокалист, но также как композитор и автор текстов. Он коллекционирует синтезаторы разных десятилетий XX века и использует их при записи собственных треков, придерживаясь при этом современного звучания. В 2017 году Антон начал писать музыку для кино и театра. Его первая музыкальная постановка – «Море деревьев» в «Гоголь-центре». В этом же спектакле Антон сыграл и свою первую театральную роль.

Начав карьеру в подростковом возрасте, Гида Вальтисдоттир основала экспериментальную группу Múm, ставшую в новом веке одним из символов исландской музыки. После выхода альбома «Finally We Are No One» (2002) она сосредоточилась на получении музыкального образования в университетах мира (в том числе и в Санкт-Петербурге, куда ее привел интерес к русской классической музыке), подкрепив свои знания двойной магистерской степенью в базельской Hochschule für Musik, где ее основными учителями были виолончелист и композитор Томас Деменга и альтист, композитор и импровизатор Вальтер Фэндрих. Среди музыкантов, с которыми довелось сотрудничать Гиде Вальтисдоттир, много известных имен: Kronos Quartet, Йонси из Sigur Ros, Бен Фрост, Дастин О’Халлоран, A Winged Victory for the Sullen, Колин Стетсон, Олоф Арналдс, Дэмьен Райс и культовый режиссер Гай Мэддин. Исландский композитор и продюсер сочиняла музыку к фильмам, спектаклям, балетным постановкам и аудиовизуальным проектам. Ее первый сольный альбом «Epicycle» (2015) вышел на легендарном исландском лейбле Smekkleysa и был отмечен престижными призами на Icelandic Music Awards.

Первая группа у Кати Шилоносовой появилась еще в родной Казани. Переехав в 2012 году в Москву, она вместе с музыкантом Евгением Горбуновым (NRKTK, Stoned Boys) основала проект Glintshake, который стал играть англоязычный рок с отсылками к американской альтернативе 80-х и 90-х. Параллельно Катя Шилоносова вошла в состав академического ансамбля Scratch Orchestra, который в 2013 году исполнил в ЦСК «Гараж» несколько параграфов из «Великого учения» Корнелиуса Кардью. На следующий год, пройдя конкурсный отбор, она стала участницей Red Bull Music Academy в Токио как создательница сольного электронного проекта Kate NV. Вышедший в 2016-м дебютный альбом Kate NV «Binasu» получил восторженные рецензии в музыкальных медиа мира. О талантливой молодой москвичке и ее экзотическом электронном авант-попе написали The New Yorker и The Quietus. Недавно Kate NV выступала в североамериканском туре вместе с канадской певицей и продюсером Джесси Ланзой. Помимо Kate NV, Катя Шилоносова занята еще в двух группах – в трансформировавшемся из Glintshake «ГШ» она исполняет умный и динамичный гитарный поп на русском языке, а в импровизационной группе «Рты» джемует вместе с участниками российских инди-групп On-The-Go и Pompeya.

Проект Kate NV вошел в пул RUSH, новой инициативы независимых музыкальных экспертов, взявшей на себя функции Российского музыкального экспортного офиса, и будет представлять Россию на первом российском шоукейсе в рамках Reeperbahn Festival в сентябре этого года.

Обучаясь классической музыке с пяти лет, Виктор Арнасон начал играть в разных коллективах с подросткового возраста. Его первым большим успехом стала группа Búdrýgindi, победившая в 2002-м в национальном конкурсе Battle Of The Bands. В составе Hjaltalín, к которой музыкант присоединился в 2006 году, Виктор Арнасон выпустил три полноценные альбома, саундтрек к фильму и концертный альбом с Исландским симфоническим оркестром, который включал поп-оркестровые композиции музыканта. Коллективы, в которых участвовал Виктор Арнасон, неоднократно становились победителями премии Icelandic Music Awards.

Получив дипломы по композиции и игре на скрипке, Виктор является дирижером / скрипачом и художественным содиректором ансамбля SKARK и дирижировал такими оркестрами, как Берлинский музыкальный ансамбль, ансамбль LPR в Нью-Йорке, Австралийский Камерный оркестр и Будапештский кинематографический оркестр.

С 2010 года Виктор играл на струнных инструментах и делал оркестровые аранжировки для таких музыкантов, как Йоханн Йоханнссон, Олафур Арналдс, Нильс Фрам, Хильдур Гунаддоттир, Agent Fresco, Gluteus Maximus, Юни Стефсон, Árstíðir, Сандра Кольстад, East of My Youth и Hanna Mia and The Northern Taylor Squad.

В конце 1990-х Андрей Антонец вместе с Александром Матросовым основал IDM-дуэт Alexandroid, который громко заявил о себе за рубежом. В 2004 году проект удостоился Гран-при Radio France Internationale Electronic Music Award как самый интересный в Восточной Европе. Председатель жюри Лоран Гарнье (Laurent Garnier) выбрал Alexandroid из более чем 60 исполнителей из 15 стран. В 2010-м Андрей Антонец основал проект idi0ts, дебютный EP которого, вышедший на лондонском лейбле Lo Recordings, попал в европейский инди-чарт. В этом же году вместе с Ильей Лагутенко («Мумий Тролль») создал электронный проект Кета, первый альбом которого «Дерзости» стал, по мнению критиков, одним из лучших российских релизов 2012-го. Под псевдонимом OID Андрей Антонец записал больше десятка сольных релизов, вышедших на разных европейских лейблах, сочинил музыку к нескольким спектаклям, фильмам, видеоинсталляциям и классике немого документального кино «Человеку с киноаппаратом» Дзиги Вертова. Последний полноценный альбом OID «22:22» был выпущен весной 2017 года московским лейблом Sealt лимитированным изданием на виниле.

powered by
  • rs
  • mb
  • gi