30 March 2017, 21:30

Metropol. Address: Teatralny proezd, 2

PAST EVENT

Twenty years of Nikola Melnikov’s 24-year-long life have been dedicated to music and piano. His parents signed the four-year-old boy with a musical talent up for hockey and piano lessons. Nikola didn’t make the final choice in favour of music and grand piano until after high school, when he was accepted to the Gnessin Russian Academy of Music.

Six years ago, as a student of one of Russia’s top music universities, he decided to try his hand at composing, and began with applied and entertaining music, writing soundtracks for the sensational hip-hop opera Cops on Fire, and fashion shows of Louis Vuitton, Hugo Boss and Russian designers. He performed at Moscow night clubs and in respectable concert halls.

In 2015, Nikola took 150 piano sketches and compositions, written over the course of four years, selected the best 13 and assembled them into his debut album #22, whose first performance took place at the Moscow International House of Music. The composer and piano player sees a special magic in number 22, which has been present in one way or another in all the best moments of his life. In the first week of its release on iTunes, the album made it to the Top 3 in the classical/neoclassical music category in Russia, and within two weeks it was on iTunes’ global Top 100 in this category. Nikola’s romantic pieces, which resemble dialogues with his favourite composers Petr Tchaikovsky and Sergei Rakhmaninov, immediately caught people’s fancy.

In addition to his passionate and semi-improvisational grand piano performances, Nikola is apt to surprise the audiences with unexpected sprinklings of electronic sounds and even DJ sets that may include some hip-hop tracks. The young composer is keen on the new opportunities, available to the musicians by the combination of classical music traditions and new technologies. Nikola’s second album, which was recently presented in Sweden and the US, will be vocal and electronic — right now he is mostly interested in joint projects with opera singers, and in the ideas of immersive opera and theater, which he sees as part of his future career. But he doesn’t neglect his Gnessin Academy training either, and after the electronic album plans to record a program of acoustic pieces with an orchestra.

For his March concert as part of the SOUND UP festival, the 24-year-old composer will display both sides of his talent, performing both the piano pieces that brought him the renown, and the new works, amplified by electronica.

“I care not for wealth and riches. But that blue flower I do long to see; it haunts me and I can think and dream of nothing else,” said the young Heinrich von Ofterdingen, the protagonist of the unfinished novel by the great German poet and philosopher Novalist, written at the turn of the 19th century. Since then, the blue flower or blaue blume has been used by the romantics of subsequent centuries as the mystical symbol of spiritual self-discovery.

There can be no doubt that the members of the Danish art pop band Blaue Blume are romantics. The’ve recently turned 25, and it’s difficult to be anyone else at this age. This was also the age of Heinrich von Ofterdinger who dreamt of the “blue flower,” and of Novalis himself. The musicians are looking for miracles — and find them in their own songs. The texts raise the eternal questions of love, life, and death.
Blaue Blume could be called the successors of the New Romanticism, which was born in Great Britain 35 years ago as a reaction to the insolent and vulgarly simple punk music, which enthralled the youth. The New Romantics, of which Duran Duran and Spandau Ballet proved to be the most commercially successful, were interested in everything that was complicated, intricate, ambivalent, and inexpressible. Their performances were always distinguished by some truly fantastic stage constumes.

The young Danish musiains, long-haired and thin-boned, brushed aside the peacock fashion sense of their British predecessors, but paid very close attention to their albums. The delicate and vibrant music of Blaue Blume echoes the best British bands of the 1980s: from Talk Talk and Japan to The Smiths and Cocteau Twins. The astonishing androgynous falsetto of the band’s frontman Jonas Smith has been compared to the voice of Antony Hegarty (Anohni).

Still, the day and night hymns of Blaue Blume, which recorded its debut album Syzygy in 2015, are sufficiently original. The band, which created a real stir with its live performances at Europe’s largest festivals (Roskilde, The Great Escape, Eurosonic), is currently among the continent’s top 10 up-and-coming indie musicians. The young Danes, who record elegant pop songs with showy melodies and timbral experiments, have been deservedly compared to the British veterans Wild Beasts and fellow countrymen Efterklang.

On March 30, the Danish romantics from Blaue Blume will give their first performance in Russia as part of the SOUND UP concert series.

powered by
  • rs
  • mb
  • gi

30 марта 2017, 21:30

Метрополь. Адрес: Театральный проезд, 2

Мероприятие прошло

Из 24 лет своей жизни Никола Мельников 20 посвятил музыке и игре на фортепиано. Четырехлетнего мальчика, проявившего музыкальный талант, родители отвели заниматься хоккеем и учиться игре на инструменте. Окончательно Никола Мельников выбрал музыку и рояль, когда после окончания школы поступил на бюджетное отделение РАМ имени Гнесиных.

Шесть лет назад, будучи студентом одного из главных музыкальных вузов России, сам решил писать музыку, начав с прикладных и развлекательных композиций: является автором саундтреков для нашумевшего спектакля «Копы в огне» и fashion-показов Louis Vuitton, Hugo Boss и русских дизайнеров, выступал в московских ночных клубах и на респектабельных концертных площадках.

В 2015 году Никола Мельников отобрал из 150 фортепианных эскизов и композиций, сочиненных им за четыре года, 13 лучших и объединил их в дебютный альбом «#22», премьера которого состоялась в Московском международном Доме музыки. Для пианиста и композитора в числе 22 есть особая магия: с ним связаны лучшие моменты его жизни. В первую неделю релиза на iTunes альбом «#22» вышел на третье место в категории классической/неоклассической музыки по РФ, за вторую неделю смог закрепиться в мировом топ-100. Романтические пьесы Николы Мельникова, находящиеся в диалоге с сочинениями его любимых композиторов Петра Чайковского и Сергея Рахманинова, мгновенно пленили сердца слушателей.

Помимо пылких полуимпровизационных выступлений за роялем Никола Мельников способен удивить зрителя неожиданными вкраплениями в свои композиции звуков электронной природы и даже диджей-сетами, во время которых он может заиграть хип-хоп. Молодого композитора живо интересуют новые возможности, открывающие перед музыкантами сочетание традиций классической музыки и новых технологий. Новый, второй альбом Николы Мельникова, который он недавно презентовал в Швеции и США, будет электронным и вокальным – сейчас его больше всего интересуют совместные проекты с оперными певцами, а также идеи иммерсивного театра и оперы, с которыми он собирается в дальнейшем связать свою карьеру. Впрочем, и гнесинскую выучку Никола Мельников не забросил на полку – вслед за электронным альбомом он планирует записать программу акустических сочинений с оркестром.

На мартовском концерте в рамках SOUND UP 24-летний композитор покажет обе стороны своего таланта, представив как принесшие ему известность фортепианные композиции, так и новые сочинения, усиленные электроникой.

«Не сокровища так невыразимо привлекают меня, жадность чужда моей душе: я мечтаю лишь о том, чтобы увидеть голубой цветок», – говорил юный Гейнрих фон Офтердинген, герой неоконченного романа великого немецкого поэта-философа Новалиса, написанного на рубеже XVIII-XIX веков. C тех пор «голубой цветок» или blaue blume стал мистическим символом постижения идеалов и самораскрытия духовного мира для романтиков следующих столетий.

Участники датской арт-поп-группы Blaue Blume, без сомнения, романтики. Им недавно исполнилось по 25 лет – в этом возрасте трудно быть кем-то другим. Примерно столько же было и Гейнриху фон Офтердингену, грезившему «голубым цветком», да и самому Новалису. Музыканты ищут чуда и находят его в собственных песнях. В текстах поднимаются вечные вопросы о любви, жизни и смерти.

Blaue Blume можно назвать преемниками движения «новых романтиков», возникшего 35 лет назад в Британии в качестве реакции на нахрапистую, охватившую умы молодежи панк-музыку с ее вульгарной простотой. «Новых романтиков», самыми коммерчески успешными представителями которых стали Duran Duran и Spandau Ballet, интересовало все сложное, тонкое, неоднозначное, невыразимое. А выступления их отличали фантастические наряды.

Молодые датчане, длинноволосые и тонкокостные, оставили без внимания павлинье чувство моды британских предшественников, зато особо тщательно изучили их альбомы. Тонкая и звонкая музыка Blaue Blume ведет перекличку с лучшими британскими группами 1980-х: от Talk Talk и Japan до The Smiths и Cocteau Twins. Изумительный андрогинный фальцет фронтмена арт-поп-группы Йонаса Смита (Jonas Smith) сравнивают с голосом Энтони Хегарти (Anohni).

Впрочем, в гимнах дням и ночам Blaue Blume, выпустивших в 2015 году дебютный альбом «Syzygy», достаточно оригинальности. Группа, блеснувшая живыми перформансами на крупнейших фестивалях Европы (Roskilde, The Great Escape, Eurosonic), сейчас находится в горячей десятке восходящих инди-звезд Европы. Молодых датчан, записывающих утонченные поп-песни с эффектными мелодиями и тембральными экспериментами, справедливо сравнивают с заслуженными британцами Wild Beasts и земляками Efterklang.

30 марта датские романтики из Blaue Blume впервые выступят в России в рамках концертной серии SOUND UP

powered by
  • rs
  • mb
  • gi